Boston Eats: Penang @ Chinatown

I wonder if people have been waiting for this post. As the most popular Malaysian/Singaporean restaurant in Boston, I’ve obviously been there a couple times. I’ve got to confess that I don’t really go there willingly, and am often found there when I’m meeting up with friends from back home. The food is really not that bad – I have had a ton of food from restaurants claiming to be from the Straits area, and are totally American Chinese horridness. The food is not bad, but seriously, I can cook better, for cheaper and in my own home. The only catch is if I have the time to do it! HA!

IMG_0957

Roti Canai – $4.50: So far, the best roti canai I’ve had in the states. So many of the roti canais I get elsewhere are from frozen packets and pan fried. The taste is far from a home made roti canai. Kudos to Penang for making their own! The curry could have more flavor in my opinion, but I’m just used to those back home that kicks hell of a punch. This one just seemed watered down.

IMG_0955

Nasi Lemak – $7.95: This nasi lemak is really not bad. The rice could be more coconutty, but the achar (that carrot/cucumber relish on the side) is really good. The star of the show is definitely the rendang (thick chicken curry) that comes with it. Yummy! My one wish is that instead of a boiled egg, we get a fried egg, sunny side up – just like back home!

I have also tried a bunch of other dishes at Penang – char kuay teow, hokkien mee, Hainanese chicken rice etc. I’d say the above two would be my to-go dishes. The char kuay teow is not bad, but incredibly oily. I’m not a fan of the Hainanese chicken rice or hokkien mee as I can definitely do better. Check out my recipe for Hainanese chicken rice!

Penang

Address: 685 Washington St, Boston, MA 02111

Phone: (617) 451-6373

Hours: M – Thu, Su | 11.30am – 11.30pm
F – Sa | 11.30am – 2am

Price Range: $$ ($10 to $20 per person)

Overall: Will come back again!

Leave a Reply

