Herb Baked Salmon

sal5

Salmon, salmon, salmon, salmon, I LOVE SALMON!

Unfortunately, I can’t afford to eat it every day, so when we get salmon, it is a very special day. Ideally, my salmon is fresh and raw salmon belly, but I will eat it cooked, and I will eat other parts of the salmon too. I also like farm-raised salmon more than wild caught salmon, because I like the taste of the salmon fat (isn’t that where the Omega-3 is?) and wild caught salmon doesn’t have that much fat. Also, I’m very concerned about the sustainability of the fish we eat, and so I prefer to eat farm-raised fish rather than wild caught because I feel it is more sustainable that way. (Yes, I know this is a highly debatable topic.) I also like salmon steaks (see below) more than salmon filet because the bone really keeps the fish moist and juicy. I also tend not to dress the fish up too much because I like the smell and taste of fish. Keep it simple, stupid! 🙂

So here you go, a tasty and simple salmon recipe. Also, follow the timings for perfectly cooked fish. I really hate overcooked fish, so this one is definitely spot on!

Ingredients (2 servings)

  • 1 lb salmon steak
  • 2 slices ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • herb of choice (I used thyme, but any herb you like would work!)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil

Directions
sal1

Oil the salmon steak on both sides.

Place the ginger and garlic on the bottom side of the steak.

Salt and pepper the top side, and add herbs if you wish. (I used baby dill.)

sal4

Bake in the oven at 400F for 10 minutes per 1″ of thickness of salmon steak.

Serve immediately.

sal3
The perfect just-cooked salmon! Yums!

sal2
Served with bacon-asparagus bundles!

One response to “Herb Baked Salmon

  1. Pingback: Spicy Crusted Baked Salmon Steaks | emylogues·

Leave a Reply

