Caixin/Yu Choy and Shrimp Stirfry

cxin1

I’m heading to the Baltics and Scandinavia for a few weeks. Don’t worry, I’ll try my best to keep blogging while I’m away too. One still has to eat, right?

Caixin is a common vegetable in Southeast Asia, and is commonly used in stirfrys of all kinds. When I was growing up, I really didn’t like the vegetable because it was bitter (in a very broad sense of that word.) When in noodle stirfrys, caixin always turns black, and shrivels up into a disgusting seaweed-like thing that tastes bitter. I hated it.

However, after cooking it on my own, I realized that caixin really isn’t such a horrible vegetable. The secret (well not quite much of a secret) is really to not overcook it! Here’s dressing up some regular caixin with some huge shrimps my uncle bought!

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch of caixin (approximately 12 oz), cut into 1 1/2″ pieces, separate the stems from leaves
  • 3-4 oz fresh shrimp
  • 1/2 tablespoon light soy sauce
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons cooking oil

Directions
cxin2

To a heated pan, add oil and fry minced garlic till golden brown and fragrant.

Add shrimp, and fry until shrimp is half cooked.

cxin3

Add the stems of caixin, and fry for 1 to 2 minutes.

Add the leaves of caixin and fry until everything is cooked. The caixin would have wilted but is stil green.

cxin4

Leave a Reply

