Baked Spicy Asian Chicken Thighs

cthigh1

This is the first thing I cooked when I got back for my 3-week-long Scandinavia/Baltics backpacking trip. By then, I was so sick of sandwiches, tomatoes and bananas, and I just wanted a good, big, yet healthy and hearty meal. I was travelling on the super super cheap and had a total of three restaurant/cafe type meals the entire three weeks. All other meals were just packed sandwiches (with mostly shitty ham and good cheese) supplemented with fruits. I was being hard on myself, but hey, I made it under $2200 for a 3-week Scandinavia/Baltics trip, which I think is amazing considering hostels cost about 30-euro per night on average in the Scandinavian countries, and that was where I spent most of my time.

Anyway, when I got back and went grocery shopping (obviously Jason mostly survived on cereal and milk when I was away), chicken thighs were on sale – yes! I love chicken thighs. Love chicken thighs. Yes, it is slightly fattier than breast, but it tastes soooooo much better. I knew that I wanted a slightly spicy, sweet and flavorful chicken dinner. With all that added spices, and a teeny bit of spicyness from the cayenne and chilli powder, this is definitely a recipe you want in your recipe books.

Go cook away! 🙂

Alternative: May throw on the grill to cook instead!

Ingredients for Marinade

  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 2 stalks green onion
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons light soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon white pepper powder

Ingredients

  • 4 – 6 chicken thighs, preferably skin-on and bone-in

Directions
cthigh2

In a mortar, add garlic and green onion, then pound until a paste is formed. Alternatively, add these ingredients in a food processor and process until a paste-like consistency is achieved.

To the garlic/green onion mixture, add the rest of the ingredients and mix to combine.

cthigh3

In a mixing bowl, add chicken thighs and pour the marinade over the chicken thighs.

Toss to coat evenly, then set aside in the fridge to marinate for at least 2 hours.

cthigh4

When ready to grill, place the chicken thighs in a single layer on a baking sheet.

Bake at 350F for 40 minutes.

Serve and enjoy!

cthigh5

cthigh6

Leave a Reply

