Char Kuay Teow (Singapore Black Fried Rice Noodle)

charq1

Char Kuay Teow is one Singaporean dish that everyone loves to have, but can never have enough. It is literally a heart-stopping dish, since it is usually made with a ton of pork lard (oh so delicious pork lard). I would love a plate of Char Kuay Teow from the Bedok South market near my parents’ house in Singapore, but living halfway across the world just robs luxuries like this away from you. I guess that’s the trade off for having free 2-day shipping from Amazon, or living in an apartment the size of a 4 room flat in Singapore with one other person just 20mins away from Boston.

Oh well, I’ll stop griping and get back to Char Kuay Teow. Obviously, I can’t have my Bedok South Char Kuay Teow (the very thought of it makes my mouth water!) And obviously, this part of the world doesn’t constantly stock yellow noodles (I did make a run yesterday looking for it), or even stocks the fat kuay teow noodles. There is no hum (blood cockles – my favorite part of Char Kuay Teow) in this part of the world, and somehow, lard is not popular here either.

Against the odds, I decided that I had to make Char Kuay Teow. Its the quintessential Singaporean dish, and being the Singaporean foodie I am, there was no way Char Kuay Teow is escaping my grasps, even from this far away. I’m making a Char Kuay Teow recipe that is skimmed – no hum, no lard, no fat kuay teow noodles and no yellow noodles. I apologize that is not as authentic as it can be, but it is as authentic as it gets around here. Still, despite everything, it was delicious! Yes! I’m not talking American standard delicious. I’m saying, my Singaporean-bred taste buds thought it was delicious. Therefore, it is delicious!

Ingredients (2 servings)

  • 1/2 packet kuay teow
  • 1/2 packet yellow noodles
  • 1 sweet Chinese sausage (腊肠), sliced
  • 6-8 stalks Chinese chives, cut into 1 1/2 inch sections
  • 2 stalks yu choy sum/caixin, cut into 1 1/2 inch sections
  • 2 + 1 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 + 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons dark soy sauce
  • 1 fishcake, sliced
  • 2 teaspoons fish sauce
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 pound bean sprouts
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • [optional] 2 tablespoons chopped chaipo (preserved radishes)
  • [optional] 2 tablespoons fried pork lard

Directions
charq2

In a heated pan/wok, add oil and fry garlic and chaipo until fragrant.

Add sliced Chinese sausage and fry for about 30 seconds.

Add kuay teow, yellow noodles and fish cake. Fry for 2-3 minutes, until the noodles separate and everything is combined.

charq3

Add black sauce and fish sauce, and fry until evenly mixed.

Add yu choy sum and pork lard (optional) and fry until evenly mixed, and the greens are slightly wilted.

Make a hole in the middle of the pan. Add the beaten eggs in this hole, then cover the eggs with the surrounding noodles.

Wait for a while, before mixing everything together.

Add bean sprouts and Chinese chives. Fry until evenly mixed.

charq4

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

