Nyonya Curry Chicken

nonc1

Some weeks ago, a few friends and I had a potluck Ladies’ Night where we continued the discussion of all things musical from the females perspective, taking off from where we left off last semester. As it was a potluck dinner, I usually try to be the last person to ‘respond’ so that I can attempt to fit my dish into the grand scheme of the dinner. This time, it was easy, because everyone else were making salads, appetizers or dinner, and I took the opportunity to make a grand main dish (well, not so grand, but one that is definitely close to heart) – Nyonya Curry Chicken!

When I was growing up, I was blessed with good curries everywhere. Both my grandmothers made awesome curries, and they would say that the other grandma’s curry was better (probably some Asian hospitality thing going on there.) We would have curry often (maybe two to three times a month), and definitely more often if we were having a family gathering or barbecue at the beach. Curry is a staple, and I’ve been blessed with delicious curries as early as I can remember. It took me a long time to figure out this recipe (on my own, may I so add), which is why it took this long to finally get a feature on my blog. Tastes just like home – my grandmothers will be proud!

With empty tummies and yearning taste buds – go eat!

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken thighs and 4 chicken drumsticks (or 8 thighs, or 8 drumsticks) *dark meat only!*
  • 6-8 potatoes, peeled and halved
  • 2 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 3 cups coconut milk
  • 1 cup water

Ingredients for Curry Paste (Rempah)

  • 1/4 cup chili paste
  • 2 sticks lemongrass, cut into 2″ pieces
  • 3 tablespoons coriander powder
  • 2 tablespoons cumin powder
  • 1 tablespoon fennel seeds powder
  • ~6cm cinnamon stick
  • 5 clove powder
  • 2 star anise

Directions
nonc2

In a large pan or wok, add the oil and fry the chili paste until it is fragrant (about 1 minute.)

Add the lemongrass sticks, coriander powder, cumin powder, fennel seed powder, cinnamon stick, clove powder and star anise, and fry until everything is evenly mixed.

Add the chicken into the pan, skin side down, and potatoes, and let stand for about 1 minute.

Turn chicken pieces over and let stand for another minute.

Then, fry the chicken until the chicken pieces are half cooked and are covered with the curry paste.

Add the coconut milk and water and bring the contents to a boil. Once curry is boiling, immediately turn the heat down and let simmer for about 20 minutes.

Eat with rice, baguette or fried vermicelli (my favorite) and enjoy!

nonc3

nonc4Lovely ladies!

 

Leave a Reply

