Shakshuka (Poached Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce)

shakshuka 1

As some might know, I visited Israel less than a month ago, just before this current wave of Gaza-mess, and had more than a wonderful time there. I wish more people could visit Israel and experience what I did, and I am so glad for the opportunity (going on work no less!) to visit a land with such a rich history.

Of course, food is something I’ve always been adventurous with while travelling, and while some of the people at the conference had MacD everywhere they go, I went for the local food at every opportunity and prided myself in NEVER eating a meal at MacD or any other international chain store. I had so much local food that I loved, and hence came back trying to imitate those flavors in my own kitchen.

Shakshuka is a Tunisian dish of poached egg in a spicy tomato sauce that was very commonly found in Israel. I don’t know if the Israeli version is dissimilar to the Tunisian version since I’ve never been to Tunisia and as such have never had Tunisia shakshuka, but from speaking to the locals, I believe that it is the same dish. I love shakshuka and could eat it any time. Poached eggs are absolutely delicious, especially with the runny yolks dripping everywhere!

Ingredients (serves 2 for dinner)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 jalepeno pepper, chopped (add more if you like it spicier)
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 20oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 tablespoon sugar
  • pinch of salt and pepper
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
Garnish
  • chopped flat leaf parsley
  • crumbled feta cheese

shakshuka 2

In a large pan, add oil and fry the onions and jalepeno peppers until they are soft.

Add the can of diced tomatoes, sugar, salt, black pepper and red pepper flakes, and let the mixture come up to a boil.

When the mixture starts to boil, crack the four eggs into the tomato sauce, and turn off the heat after 1 minute and a half.

shakshuka 3

Cover the pan with the cover for about 2 minutes, then sprinkle the chopped parsley and feta on top of the pan.

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

