Miami Eats: Playa Cafe @ South Beach

Playa Cafe was something we location-Yelped while we were on our way to Lincoln Road from our hotel. We walked past it twice, before finally realizing that we had passed it. Obviously, it was another of those hole-in-the-wall places, but that’s exactly what we liked.

When we first walked in, we walked to the bar and were greeted by the server. She handed us the menus (very simple laminated piece of paper), and it had pictures of all the food. I immediately knew that I wanted a roast pork lunch. Cuban food is a mish-mash of Spanish, African and Carribean cuisine, and you definitely taste a lot of it here. I wanted authentic Cuban, and I definitely got authentic Cuban at Playa Cafe. One can’t ask for better!

Jas' Cuban Skirt Steak

Skirt Steak – $10: Jas’ skirt steak was delicious! It was tender and well seasoned. He chose the salad over plantains since I was having plantains, and that was fresh and light. The beans were flavorful and plenty, and the rice was perfectly cooked (says the Asian person here.)

Emy's Cuban Roast Pork

Roast Pork – $6: I loved my roast pork. It was tender, nicely seasoned, and had a hint of lime to it. It also had onions, which I love. The plantains were absolutely delicious. They were slightly crispy on the edges, but were nice and soft inside. I loved the crispy edges that were caramelized –  yummy! I’d gladly pay $6 for this any day. It was a larger portion than I had imagined for lunch, but I’m not saying no to good food!

Playa Cafe

Address: 1515 Washington Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139

Tel: 305-538-1551

Hours: M-Su | 9am – 5pm

Price Range: $ ($0-$10 per person)

Leave a Reply

