Chicken Ngoh Hiang 鸡肉五香肠 (Teochew Five Spice Meat Rolls)

IMG_1452

On a snowy New England afternoon, I walked all the way to the post office to get a package sent from Singapore. They tried delivering it the day before but I wasn’t home to receive it, and by the time I got back, the post office was closed. I was really excited! I know my mum sent me some beancurd skin sheets after I told her that I was going to try making them from soy milk. (Btw, I still do want to try out this soy milk thing.) Well, just in time for Chinese New Year! Anyway, thanks mum! $13.70 just to send some beancurd skins over, now these are really expensive beancurd skins.

So that night, I made chicken ngoh hiang. Ngoh hiang means ‘five fragrance’ in Teochew, where the five frangrances refer to the spices cinnamon, clove, star anise, Sichuan pepper and fennel. I made mine with chicken, but pork and shrimp are more usual stuffings for it. We usually have these during festive seasons like Chinese New Year, but my grandmothers would sometimes make them for large family gatherings too. I love the end bits of the ngoh hiang because it is crispy. As such, I make my ngoh hiang shorter, so that I only cut it in half and each half has a crispy end to it. *teeHee*

Ingredients

  • 5 half-sheets beancurd skin 
  • 1 chicken thigh, deboned and minced
  • 3-4 water chestnuts, minced
  • a dash of white pepper
  • 1 teaspoon oyster sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon five spice powder
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • a drizzle of sesame oil
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil (for frying)

Directions

IMG_1431

Add all the ingredients except the beancurd skin and the oil for frying in a large bowl. Mix until evenly combined.

13-011

Lay the beancurd skins on a chopping board, and wipe them with a moist kitchen towel to remove some of the extra salt on it. Turn over, and wipe the other side too.

Spoon about 1/5 of the meat mixture on top of one 1/2 of a beancurd skin. Spread it out horizontally so it resembles the second picture above.

Fold the bottom upwards and continue rolling until the beancurd skin is all used up. Wet the edges of the beancurd skin and fold over.

13-012

In a frying pan, add the oil for frying, and fry the meat rolls seam side down. When it is brown on one side, turn over. This should take approximately 2-3 minutes on each side.

When they are all fried, cut each roll in half and serve!

IMG_1455

IMG_1457

Served with Hainanese Chicken Rice – yumies! (Like I said, ngoh hiang is often for special meals!)

Leave a Reply

