New Orleans: New Orleans Hamburger and Seafood Co. @ Garden District

The first thing I did when I landed in New Orleans was to find some local food! My friend Melissa had picked me up from the airport, and I had thought about a crawfish boil, but unfortunately we didn’t have that much time before picking up the rest of Lunar.

We went to New Orleans Hamburger and Seafood Co. for some po-boys instead. NOHSC is a chain restaurant and they have three or four locations in New Orleans. The place was quiet, but the waitstaff were incredibly friendly. The menu was simple, and I picked the first thing I’ll have in New Orleans – a fried oyster po-boy! What can I say? I wanted to have a po-boy since it was such a Louisiana thing to do, and fried oyster was the most exotic fried seafood to me! Also, this place has free ice-cream. Yup! One more reason to be back… free ice-cream.

IMG_1693

Fried Oyster Po-Boy – $11.99: The oyster po-boy was delicious! For that price with fries, I’d happily say take my money! The oysters were fresh and plump, and the batter was light and well-seasoned. There were 8-10 oysters in my entire po-boy, so that’s a happy amount of oysters in a sandwich as well. There was a good amount of lettuce in the sandwich, and the bread was nice and crispy on the outside , but sufficiently dense inside. It was great and I’ll be back for more the next time I’m in town!

Garlic Herb Fries: On the menu, it says ‘famous’ fries. I thought to myself “can fries really be that good?” Well indeed it can. The garlic-herb sauce was a nod to Papa John’s garlic sauce, but with a touch more finese. The garlic was a nice touch and not too overpowering, while I couldn’t really taste the herbs, but I could see it, and it looked good. Good fries! Unfortunately it only comes with the po-boys, and you can’t order them as a side. 😦

130312 New Orleans6

New Orleans Hamburger and Seafood Co.

Address: 4141 St. Charles Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115

Tel: (504) 684-6050

Hours: M-Su | 10.30am – 9pm

Price Range: $$ ($10 – $20 per person)

Leave a Reply

