Boston Eats: Border Cafe @ Harvard Square

photo 1

Border Cafe is my new favorite Mex-ish restaurant. I say Mex-ish, because the menu is mostly Mexican stuff like tacos, quesadillas and fajitas, but it also has a small amount of southern delights such as jambalayas and other Cajun inspired stuff. Ok, I guess Mex-Cajun would be the genre. Anyway, the food is always good, and the price is right. What’s there not to love? There is a Border Cafe at Burlington too, and we’ve been there as well, but I like the Harvard Square one better, because it’s Harvard Square!

photo 2

Also, they always start with free fried nachos (fried nachos are the bomb!) and a bowl of salsa. The nachos and salsa are refillable, and it would be so easy to gorge on these because they are so delicious, but I always try to limit myself to share a basket at most, because I need to save space for real food!

New folder

Here’s Jas and I. We were seated in the far corner in the basement. (I had no idea that they had a basement until we ate in the basement one time!)

photo 1 (2)

The atmosphere is always bright and happy. I love this place!

photo 3 (2)

Gaucho Chicken – $10.95: Jas and I usually get fajitas when we go to Border Cafe, but I suggested this Gaucho Chicken because it was something he ate (picky eater!) and looked like it was good. I was completely spot on with that. It was succulent and nicely charred, and the fries… oh the fries were the best fries I’ve had in my lifetime. So thin (my type of fries!) and so crispy! I’ll definitely be back for more Gaucho Chicken, and maybe a side of fries (or two!)

photo 3 (3)

Swordfish Tacos Veracruz – $12.95: I have a soft spot for fish tacos. I usually like my fish in fish tacos deep fried (unhealthy, I know… but it’s fish! And so good!) but these were cajun-blackened, and that sounded great too. Also, they decided to pair it with a stuffed mango-salsa avocado? That’s like two of my favorite things together! How could anyone go wrong with mango salsa stuffed avocado, and grilled too! This was crazy awesome, and the salad was nicely dressed to. I’ll be back for more of this, and fries. For sure!

photo 4

All that delicious food…

*update* 6/30/14

20140630_124922

Blackened Catfish Fajitas – $11.45: I got more fish than I ever expected, and it was good! The mango bits that came with it was a good contrast in terms of spice, texture and sweetness. I really like catfish fajitas now! Yum!

20140630_124905

Gaucho chicken, as above! Chicken was tender and juicy, and I still love the fries!

20140630_124913

Chimichurri Steak – $11.98: Good amount of steak and it was cooked as I had requested too – medium (because my grandmother doesn’t like it too rare). I love love love the herb sauce that comes with it – it’s flavorful and fresh, and lightens up the entire dish. It looks like a chimichurri sauce, but it is actually not! I don’t know why Border Cafe’s chimichurri sauce is not a green sauce, but just be aware when ordering it!

Border Cafe
Address: 32 Church St, Cambridge MA 02138
Phone: (617) 864-6100
Hours: M – Th | 11am – 1am
F – Sa | 11am – 2am
Su | 11am – 12mn
Price Range: $$ ($10 – $20 per person)
Overall: Yum!

Leave a Reply

