New York Eats: Amy Ruth’s @ Harlem

We went to Amy Ruth’s for Sunday brunch! For a party of 12, we stood in line for about 50 minutes, although their initial estimate was 20 minutes. Other than that, I love everything about Amy Ruth’s! It was the best meal we had on our short weekend NYC trip!

IMG_0303

Amy Ruth’s has a classy old-school decor that really enhances the whole big-momma-can-cook-ya-good-food vibe. I think the whole black/white and sepia thing also helped!

IMG_0308

They welcome you with cornbread and butter! We asked for refills for the cornbread multiple times, and they kept bringing more. So good!

IMG_0310

Chicken and Waffles (Smothered) – $10.95: The chicken was fall-off-the-bone soft, and the gravy was just heaven! It had a green peppers and onions in the gravy. So good!

IMG_0312

The waffle came with butter and was perfect and crisp. I used the waffle to soak up the gravy and paired it with the chicken. It was heaven in my mouth!

IMG_1386

Chicken and Waffles (Fried) – $10.95: Same delicious chicken, but fried instead of smothered in gravy. Delicious! We also figured that they would give you a side of gravy if you ordered fried chicken and waffles. I think that’s the way to go. That way, you will have crispy chicken, and a ton of gravy too! Yums. My mouth is watering as I write this post. So good, and so ‘good’ for your body too!

IMG_0313

Completely cleaned up my plate. I was bursting, but it was that good. I’ll definitely be back the next time I’m in NYC!

Address: 113 W 116th St, New York, NY 10026
Phone: (212) 280-8779
Hours: Su – Th | 8.30am – 11pm
F + Sa | 8.30am – 5.30am
Price Range: $$ ($10 – $20 per person)
Leave a Reply

