Singapore Eats: Chin Chin Eating House (Chicken Rice) @ City Hall

20130729_183841

Met up with my girlfriends (and a guyfriend) at Chin Chin Eating House! My family and I love coming to Chin Chin because it is affordable, they have tables big enough to accommodate all of us, and most importantly, the food is consistently decent (and some dishes are just great!) Above, you can see Chin Chin’s entire menu!

20130729_184805

We were at Chin Chin on a weeknight at 7pm, so there were a ton of space available. On weekends, this would turn into a sea of human beings!

20130729_190519

Steamed Chicken – S$13 for half a bird and S$25 for a whole bird: Considering that chicken rice is Chin Chin’s ‘title dish’, I was a little disappointed with the chicken here. It was not bad, but it just was not hell awesome. The chicken was tender and the skin was so flavorful (that’s why we eat the skin, right?), but I can’t help to think that something magical was missing. The sauce for the chicken was also delicious – it was light and just salty and sweet enough. Actually, the sauce might be my favorite part of this dish. Again, it’s very very good, but it fell short of magical. That said, I would totally eat this again!

20130729_190306

Hainanese Pork Chop (small size) – S$6/S$8/S$10: This pork chop was really crispy when it first came out, and was served with a delightful red sauce that resembles the sauce for sweet and sour pork, but much milder. The pork was tender and juicy, and came with a few fried potatoes and steamed beans on the side. I didn’t care for the soggy fries or canned beans, but the pork chop is something I’ll definitely get next time.

20130729_190541

Hainanese Chap Chye (medium size) – S$8/S$12: The best dish of the night is this Hainanese Chap Chye or mixed vegetables. I had always thought that chap chye was a Peranakan invention until I came to Chin Chin and was introduced to Hainanese chap chye. Unlike it’s Peranakan counterpart, the Hainanese chap chye is flavored with oyster sauce oomphed up with dried shrimp and some cuttlefish. These aromatics greatly enhance the flavor of the very plain white cabbage, black fungus, mung been vermicelli (tang hoon) and fried pigs skin! I highly recommend this dish!

Overall, I really like Chin Chin Eating House. The price is right for the area, the food is consistently decently good, and there’s just space for larger groups. Chin Chin is also very conveniently located between two high-density MRT stations, and is flanked by other more atas restaurants. I will be back at Chin Chin for sure – it is almost a family tradition to eat here!

*updated 7/3/15*

Chin Chin Chicken Rice is one of my favorite go-to places for chicken rice, or anything really, in the City Hall area. I hate going to restaurants because they are overpriced, and have no local vibe to it. [I know, I am very unlike anyone else in my generation, but I do live far away from home, and when I’m home, I want to feel like I’m home.] Speaking of local vibe, Chin Chin is bursting with that. It is a old-fashioned classic kopitiam that serves good hearty classics, which in this case, are Hainanese favorites. I have to thank my uncle Mak who first introduced this place to me. I just love it!

Camera 360

Shrimp and Tofu Stirfry – $10: All your veggies fried with succulent prawns and some chicken breast bites. The prawns were fresh, and the veggies were perfectly cooked. I like the egg bits in the stirfry, but would have loved some sauce or chap!

Camera 360

Dinner!

Camera 360

Hainanese 1/2 Chicken – $13: The chicken was cooked well and was not too fatty. It did not have the usual sauce that drenches the chicken, but the chicken was still moist. I can’t say that it is the best chicken I’ve ever had, but it is quite good. I would definitely have chicken rice here again!

Camera 360

Sambal Kangkong – $8: This dish came out bright green, unlike a lot of other sambal kangkongs out there. It had the perfect amount of belacan for umami too! I would have liked it slightly spicier, but it was still good.

Chin Chin is also famous for their Hainanese pork chops! Do get them. I didn’t get them this trip, because we didn’t have enough people to order so many dishes, but I’ve had them before, and they are good! 🙂

Chin Chin Eating House 津津餐室

Address: 19 Purvis Street
Singapore 188598
Hours: Daily | 7am – 9pm
Telephone: +65 63374640
Price Range: $$ ($10 to $20 per person)
Overall: Good! Will always go back!

4 responses to “Singapore Eats: Chin Chin Eating House (Chicken Rice) @ City Hall

  1. Pingback: Singapore Eats: Teahouse (The Asian Kitchen) @ Raffles Place (City Hall) | emylogues·

Leave a Reply

