Singapore Eats: Yakinukutei Ao-Chan @ Orchard

I first went to Yakinikutei Ao-Chan with my friends SY and SS. They said that it had good and cheap (for the area) Japanese-Korean food. At first, I was confused with what Japanese-Korean food meant because Japanese and Korean food are quite dissimilar. Well, look on and you’ll get it!

20130725_121528

These are the beautiful ladies that introduced me to this restaurant. Thank you SS and SY!

Anyway, the food was so good that on my really short trip to Singapore, I came back again (I never do this because I want to eat as much ‘different’ foods as possible), this time bringing along my mother and grandmother!

IMG_4218

IMG_4233

Most of their lunch sets are below S$20, which is as much as I’d like to pay for lunch, so that’s great!

IMG_4222

Healthy Set B (Belly Tender Toku [beef], Pork Belly, Shiso Rice, Chinese Lettuce, Seaweed Soup, Potato Salad, Kimchi and Fruit – S$16.50: The beef was extremely tender and all the meats were marinated in their house special sauce, which is amazing! The pork belly was rather tender as well, and this would be a good set if you’re into these meats!

IMG_4221

Healthy Set A (Belly Tender Toku [beef], Chicken, Bibimbap, Seaweed Soup, Kimchi, Potato Salad, Fruit) – S$17.50: This set is pretty similar to Healthy Set B, except that the chicken substituted the pork! The chicken is very delicious after swimming in marinade, and this is SS and SY’s favorite set!

IMG_4219

Ton Toro Set (Tontoro Karubi, Toro, Porkloin, Pork Belly, Bibimbap, Seaweed Soup, Kimchi and Fruit) – S$17.50: My favorite set! I love the variations between all the different parts of a pig! My favorite was the tontoro (fatty pork) [second from left], but there was only three slices! My least favorite was the pork loin because it was so lean! Everything was delicious again, and I would totally order this set next time!

IMG_4217

Lime, for when you want a splash of citrus!

IMG_4227

Shiso rice? But I think it was actually sour plum rice. Still, very very good!

20130725_121940

Here’s the bibimbap – both my mum and grandma liked it a lot!

IMG_4229

The seaweed soup was not the greatest, as in the broth wasn’t very flavorful, but I liked that there was so much tofu and seaweed in it! The mushrooms were nice too!

IMG_4216

The kimchi was not bad too. It unlike other kimchis because it is not too sour.

IMG_4231

The potato salad was delicious. I thought it was egg salad at first because it was so yellow!

IMG_4230

Mayo and kojujang dipping sauces!

IMG_4225

We will definitely be back at Yakinikutei Ao-Chan. I mean, I’ve been there twice in less than two weeks already! 🙂 My mum and grandma loves the place, and SS and SY have been introducing friends to this place a lot. Go there soon or it’ll soon be very crowded!

Yakinikutei Ao-Chan

Address: #02-22/26 Concorde Hotel
100 Orchard Road
Singapore

Tel: (+65) 67356457

Hours: M-Fr | 12.30pm – 2pm, 6pm – 10.30pm
Sa, Su & Public Holidays | 3pm – 10pm

Price Range: $$$ ($20 – $30 per person)

Leave a Reply

