Singapore Eats: 328 Katong Laksa @ Katong

Met my friend WS for lunch at 328 Katong because I wanted very desperately to eat some Katong laksa on this trip back. I had no idea that 328 Katong laksa was just outside of her music school [Artist Academy, if anyone is interested!]

As with everyone, I have no idea which Katong laksa in Katong, and which Katong laksa not in Katong is the real Katong laksa. At this point, I don’t care for the real one because they all taste pretty similar and are all pretty good anyway. I like 328 Katong laksa because it is clean and has mildly air-conditioned seating, which is important when it is so hot (and getting even hotter) outside.

At 328, you can order your Katong laksa in three sizes – small, for S$4.50; medium, for S$5.50 and large, for S$6.50. I was really shocked when I got there because back in the day when I got my Katong laksa, it was only $3, and there was no such thing as bowl sizes. They were all big!! I guess people are just willing to pay for their laksa, because while the laksa appreciated by 50%, the otah only appreciated by 20% (and no, I’m not complaining.)

20130807_130342

(pictured is the S$4.50 bowl!)

Laksa – S$4.50/S$5.50/S$6.50: Delicious, lemak broth that is flavorful and not too heavy! The fat rice noodles are cut short so you can just scoop it up without chopsticks. Plentiful fishcake that is fresh and soft. A fair amount of hum (cockles) too, but you can ask for yours without. Still my favorite laksa, despite the price!

Otah – S$1.20: Delicious otah with just the right spices. I would have liked more chunks of meat in there for a S$1.20 otah. Feels like it is 1.5x the sie of a regular 40c otah!

Overall, I’ll be back for the laksa if the prices do not continue to increase. Honestly speaking, a bowl of noodles, bean sprouts, fishcake and some hum should not cost S$4.50!

328 Katong Laksa

Address: 51/53 East Coast Road, Singapore 428770

Hours: M-Su | 8am – 10pm

Price Range: $ ($0 – $10)

Overall: Will be back!

One response to “Singapore Eats: 328 Katong Laksa @ Katong

Leave a Reply

