Singapore Eats: Swee Choon Tim Sum @ Little India

IMG_0211

Went to Swee Choon for a cousin’s supper after being introduced to it by SY and SS! We headed there at 9pm, but only got seated at 10.30pm because we were a group of 12! The wait was long, but it was a pleasant wait because they had chairs all out and lining the sidewalk for potential customers. I guess this means that the wait is pretty normal here.

IMG_0208

They give you a number, and their menu. Tick away!!

IMG_0220

We might have gone a little overboard with the ordering process. It turned out to be a little too much food!

IMG_0217

Happily cramped with lots of food. The surroundings were clean and there were a ton of tables – unfortunately, there were still three tons of customers, so the wait is still long!

IMG_0218

They had a buzzer for service at our table, and the servers are at your table almost instantly! This is a fantastic invention. Why don’t other restaurants pick this up?

IMG_0215

Pickled Radishes – complimentary appetizer: Crunchy with strong flavors. The vinegar was sweet and salty – really opens up your palate to the foods to come!

IMG_0241

Layer Pancake with Egg and and Meat Floss – S$4.30: I wasn’t expecting to like this very much because it is not typically found in tim sum, and reminds me more of the juan bing (rolled pastry) in Taiwanese breakfasts. However, it turned out to be one of the highlights of the night! The pancake was soft and tender, and paired really well with the sweetness of the meat floss and the awesome crunch of the cucumber. This is something I am definitely ordering again. Do give it a try!

IMG_0242

Swee Choon Mee Sua Kueh – S$2.00: I have never had mee sua kueh before, so when I saw it on the menu, I really wanted to try it. It is crispy on the outside, and tastes like a rice cake, but made from wheat flour instead of rice flour (since mee sua is made from wheat flour.) Interesting!

IMG_0244

Braised Beancurd Chicken Roll – S$2.20: The chicken roll was nicely seasoned and the oyster sauce added a ‘slurp’ effect when the sauce gets absorbed through the beancurd skin. Good, but I would have also liked for the beancurd skinn to be a little crispier.

IMG_0245

Red Bean Paste Pancake – S$4.80: I usually like red bean pancakes, but this pancake came out a little dry and a little burnt. It was crispy and the red bean was smooth too. Not the best red bean paste pancake I’ve had.

IMG_0247

Fried Prawn Dumplings with Mayonnaise – S$4.20 (for three pieces): These guys came out so piping hot and crispy that it almost burnt the roof of my oral cavity! Super delicious and crunchy. For $1.40 a piece, I was hoping for real shrimp inside, and not shrimp paste though.

IMG_0226

Chee Cheong Fun – S$1.80: I wasn’t expecting to like this as I (in general) do not like plain stuff, and this is as plain as chee cheong fun gets. However, this was another highlight of the night! The cheong fun was tender and soft (I think it was made fresh), and the sauce was so simple and fragrant that it completely complimented the cheong fun. The sauce had a pleasant shallot fragrance – simple and delicious! Will definitely order again!

IMG_0228

Fried Rice with Shrimp – S$4.50: Awesome fried rice. Fluffy, fragrant and so eggy! It reminds me of the shrimp fried rice at Din Tai Fung, but at a fraction of the cost! Would definitely recommend!

IMG_0229

Char Siew Bao – S$1.60 (for two pieces): Super yummy char siew baos. I felt that the bao skins were pretty average, but the char siew (BBQ pork) filling was awesome. It was sweet and slightly fatty – just the way I like it. The fillings were generous too, and for only 80c a piece, why would anyone say no to it?

IMG_0230

Char Siew Sou (Baked BBQ Pork Pastry) – S$2.20: As above, the char siew (BBQ pork) filling is awesome! The pastry crust was super crisp and flaky too, which makes this char siew sou one of the best things I’ve had that night! So yummy. I’m definitely getting this when I come back!

IMG_0231

Portuguese Egg Tarts – S$3.00 (for two pieces): I was eyeing these egg tarts since I was sitting outside and waiting for our table. They look so good, especially with the slightly charred bits. However, it was quite a disappointment when it got to the table. It was cold, the pastry was soggy, and the egg custard was less eggy and sweeter than I would have liked. Probably won’t order this again, unless it’s fresh out of the oven!

IMG_0233

Siew Mai (Pork and Shrimp Dumplings) – S$1.80 (for two pieces): Delicious siew mai! A ton of meat and a whole prawn inside. Will definitely order again!

IMG_0234

Beancurd Roll in Oyster Sauce – S$2.20 (for two pieces): Not the best beancurd roll I’ve had. The stuffing was carrots and imitation crab meat. There was hardly any sauce so the beancurd didn’t quite absorb any sauce and thus was not very flavorful. Might not order again.

IMG_0235

Har Gao (Shrimp Dumplings) – S$2.20 (for two pieces): Awesome har gao! The stuffing is made of multiple whole prawns! Definitely recommend this. So simple, so perfect!

IMG_0236

Century Egg Porridge – S$2.50: Sufficiently watery and flavorful century egg porridge. It’s not the best I’ve tasted by far, but it wasn’t bad too. I wish they gave more century eggs and some crispy bits to enhance the rather homogeneous texture a little.

IMG_0237

Steamed Pork Ribs – S$2.50: These are some of the best tim sum pork ribs I’ve ever had. They are soft, and almost fall off the bone (we don’t want it to fall off the bone! Some bite is good!) They are seasoned so well too – garlicky and perfect! Definitely will get this in future!

IMG_0238

Liu Sha Bao (Salted Egg Yolk Custard Bun) – S$3.60 (for 3 pieces): One of the highlights of dinner! The liu sha baos were melt in your hand and I had so much fun trying to eat it and not drop a single drop of the custard filling. 100% will recommend! The custard filling is slightly less salted eggy than others, but it is still good liu sha bao!

IMG_0246

I couldn’t help it. I had to take a picture of the innards of the liu sha bao! 

IMG_0240

Beancurd Prawn Roll – S$2.80 (for two pieces): Delicious and crispy prawn roll. It’s all a prawn roll needs to be. Will order this the next time I’m back!

IMG_0222

Sichuan Dan Dan Mian – S$5.00: Pretty decent dan dan mian. It’s not the best I’ve ever had though, and I wished it was more peanuty. Despite this, the level of spice and sourness was just perfect. I liked the addition of veggies too, but I guess that was countered by the really oily gravy.

IMG_0223

Dong Po Rou – S$8.00: Not the best dong po rou I’ve ever tasted. The meat was not tender, and the fat was definitely not soft and wobbly. In fact, (although I don’t like to tout my own horn) I think my dong po rou recipe tastes better than this. Try mine instead. *teeHee* Will not order again.

Feng Zao (Braised Chicken Claw) – S$2.30: Didn’t quite like the feng zao either. The skin was still mostly stuck to the chicken feet, instead of falling off. The sauce didn’t quite appeal to me either. It could be spicier and sweeter. Will not order again.

Prawn and Banana Fritter – S$2.80 (for two pieces): The banana tasted like tapioca! In fact, I’m pretty sure it’s tapioca because it was completely unsweet – tasted like gross tapioca. Not ordering this again either. Nope nope nope.

Overall, there were a couple of hits and misses in this meal. For a 1+ hour wait, I was really expecting something out of this world, but unfortunately, it was just quite good, with some misses. Will I come back again? Yes, I probably would, but I would be back in a group of 3 or 4, so that I didn’t need to wait that long.

Swee Choon Tim Sum

Address: 191 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208882

Phone: +65 6294 5292

Hours: 5pm – 6am

Price Range: $$ ($10 – $20 per person)

Overall: Will be back!

One response to “Singapore Eats: Swee Choon Tim Sum @ Little India

  1. Pingback: MyBrickfields.com » Singapore Eats: Swee Choon Tim Sum @ Little India | emylogues·

Leave a Reply

