Singapore Eats: Hill Street Char Kuay Teow @ Bedok South Market and Food Center / Bedok

Guess who lives in Bedok South? ME! Guess what’s the nearest food center to my (my parents’) place? The Bedok South Blk 16 Hawker Center. And guess where the best (or one of the best) char kuay teows on the island is? Right here, a 5 minutes walk away from my parents’ place.

Yes, we live so close by that we actually don’t eat here that often. I guess things are more special when you work harder to get them. However, I’ve got to say that I seldom eat char kuay teow when I’m out because I know it wouldn’t be as good as this one. Meet Hill Street Char Kuay Teow – the holy grail of all grails of kuay teow goodness.

I started eating here when each plate cost only S$2.50. These days, it’s S$3 or S$4, and if you’re standing in line for 30 minutes, surely you’ll get the S$4 plate over the S$3 right?

20130815_125736

This is the line at 11.30am. It’s a long line, but not quite that long a wait. The order taking and frying takes place all the time, so it really isn’t that bad, especially considering that each plate is fried to order.

photo

The char kuay teow is seriously awesome. It’s not too oily (for char kuay teow), and I really like how the egg coats over everything. The flavors are perfect, and I think this is because they pour in cockle juice when they fry it too. I wish there were more vegetables to make me feel less bad about eating it, but it sure is a fine plate of char kuay teow, and a plate that I would gladly work out for.

Hill Street Char Kuay Teow

Address: #01-187 Bedok South Market and Food Centre
16 Bedok South Road
Singapore

Hours: T – Su | 11am – 4pm (approximately), 6pm till sold out
Price Range: $ ($0 – $10 per person)
Overall: Will be back in a heartbeat!
One response to “Singapore Eats: Hill Street Char Kuay Teow @ Bedok South Market and Food Center / Bedok

  1. Pingback: Singapore Eats: Original Changi Ten Mile Fried Carrot Cake @ Bedok South | emylogues·

Leave a Reply

