Singapore Eats: Apollo Char Kuay Teow @ Marine Parade

20130814_182345

When I was a kid, I used to take piano lessons at Yamaha, thus was always in this area. Back then, my favorite food to eat before and/or after my lessons was Apollo’s fried kuay teow. It’s been many years since my time at Yamaha, but I still fondly remember my char kuay teow. It was wet, soggy and oozing with garlic-ness. I loved it!

Recently, I found myself back in the Marine Parade area again, and went back on a hunt for my char kuay teow.

20130814_182057

Instead of being $2 or whatever it was back two decades ago, it is now $3 or $5! Ok, I guess $3 is really not too bad. When I got my plate, I was slightly disappointed as the plate was quite colourless and it was not as soggy anymore. There was no punch of garlicky goodness, and damn, it was just a whole plate of noodles and more noodles. Where were my succulent cockles or fresh slabs of fish cake? There were a few, but not nearly enough. The kuay teow felt like it was under fried and there also wasn’t the good charcoal fragrance that I remembered. 😦

The good old days of Apollo were gone. I was quite disappointed with what it had become. Please bring back my very wet, tasty and garlicky char kuay teow!

Apollo Fresh Cockle Fried Kway Teow 

Address: Blk 84 Marine Parade Central, #01-174
Singapore 440084

Hours: Daily | 11.30am to 9.30pm
Closed Tuesday

Price Range: $ ($0 to $10 per person)

Overall: Not as good as I remembered. 😦

Leave a Reply

