California Eats: Hong Kong Lounge @ Inner Richmond [San Fran]

20131215_095311

Woke up bright and early to go eat here on Sunday! The restaurant opens at 9.30am, and we heard that it gets really crowded really quickly, and so we wanted to be the first guests at the door (or at least one of the first few guests at the door.) We got lucky and got a parking spot just one street down from the restaurant. We got there at 9.45am, and got one of the two empty tables left! WIN!

20131215_100739

Here’s about half of what we ordered, and you can check from the list of stuff we ordered above.

Cheong Fun with You Tiao (Rice Noodle Roll with Dough Fritter) – Delicious springy cheong fun (rice noodle roll) that was soft, yet stayed intact when I tried to pick it up. It had a whole piece of dough fritter too. Worked very well with the lightly sweetened soy sauce!

Cheong Fun with Char Siew (Rice Noodle Roll with Honey BBQ Pork) – Similar to the above, except with BBQ pork. There was a lot of BBQ pork stuffing in it, more than I’m used to. I like both of these – can’t decide which I like better.

Feng Zao (Braised Chicken Feet) – Not as gelatinous as I would have liked. The sauce tastes really good though.

Xiao Long Bao – Decent, but not the best I’ve tasted. I wish there was more ‘juice’ in the XLB.

Braised Pork Ribs – Very light and delicious. I love the slight black bean flavor in this. Will definitely get this again!

Ho Yi Fun (Glutinous Rice with Chicken) – Absolutely yummy! I love the slight hint of lotus leaf flavor in the rice. It was stuffed with a plentiful amount of chicken, mushrooms and egg. Yum! Definitely get this!

Shui Jing Bao with Koo Chye (Dumpling with Chives) – I was surprised by how tender the skin is. The filling also included shrimp/prawns which I wasn’t expecting, but the seafood gave it some textural difference and more bite. I like this a lot. Get this too!

Braised Tofu Skin wrapped Dumplings – Quite good. It has minced meat (pork) and the bamboo shoots added a different texture. The sauce was quite delicious. Yum!

20131215_100748

Char Siew Bao (Honey BBQ Pork Bun) – Good amount of filling! The dough was a tad sweet and somewhat meaty. I would have liked for it to be lighter. Good!

Liu Sha Bao (Salted Egg Custard Bun) – The custard filling was not as fluid as I would have liked, but it was close enough. Very very tasty. I would get this again too!

20131215_100325

Har Gao (Prawn Dumplings) – There were two whole prawns in each dumpling. Very fresh and the skin was soft, but a little dried out. Still very good. Get it!

20131215_101958

Cong You Bing (Scallion Pancakes) – This is different from other scallion pancakes I’m used to. It uses a batter rather than a dough, so it is softer, but with less bite. It came out super light and crispy, and I like this a lot. I’ll get this again too!

20131215_095632

Char Siew Sou (Honey BBQ Pork Pastry) – This is what people come to this restaurant for – the Honey BBQ Pork Pastry. It is so buttery, so soft, so flaky and to die for. Just the right amount of crunch and sweet! My mouth is totally watering right now!

20131215_105318

This was the queue/line when we exited the restaurant at 11am. It is long! So very well worth the wait though!

Hong Kong Lounge

Address: 5322 Geary Blvd
(between 18th Ave & 17th Ave)
San Francisco, CA 94121
Phone: (415) 668-8836
Hours: M-F | 10.30am – 2.30pm
Sa-Su | 9.30am – 2.30pm
M-Su | 5.30pm – 9pm
Price Range: $$ ($10 – $20 per person)
Overall: I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

