Boston Eats: LA Burdick @ Copley

Camera 360

Brought my brother here when he visited because I’ve heard wonders about the chocolate here. We were deciding between Max Brenners just down the street, or Burdicks, but he chose Burdicks because we had a Max Brenner in Singapore. I’ve been to both, and I think Burdick does have a more cafe/afternoon tea feel, as opposed to the pub feel at Brenners.

Camera 360

Hot Dark Chocolate – $5.95: The thickest, most chocolatey hot chocolate I’ve ever had in my life. (And if you’re comparing it to the Irish cream hot chocolate at Brenners, these are much thicker!) I could only finish 1/3 of the cup at most, and so it was a complete waste. Tastes great though – not too sweet! I’ll bring two other friends along next time, and we’ll get one cup of hot chocolate.

Hot White Chocolate – $5.95: Not as thick as the dark chocolate one, and about 20x sweeter. It was so sickeningly sweet – yes, you read that right, I had to use the word ‘sickeningly’ – that I could only drink one sip. Even more of a waste! I will never get this again, and wouldn’t recommend this to anyone, even if the person likes eating pure sugar. Way way way too sweet!

Camera 360

Raspberry and Almond Tart – $4: The better of the two cakes. The cake portion was sweet, but the tartness of the raspberry jam cut through that pretty well. Good dollop of cream did help too! Good, but nothing special.

Camera 360

Chocolate Mousse Cake – $4: Very rich and smooth chocolate mousse. The cake portion was very normal, hence I think this would be a good cake, but not one that will hit it out of the park.

L.A. Burdick
Address: 220 Clarendon St Boston, MA 02116
Phone: (617) 303-0113
Hours: M-Th | 8am to 8pm
F, Sa | 8am – 9pm
Su | 10am – 8pm
Price Range: $$ ($10 to $20 per person)
Overall: May be back again.

Leave a Reply

