Rhode Island Eats: Rosemary and Thyme Artisan Bakery and Cafe @ Newport

image

I don’t know where to start with this other than to say that I love this place. Love love love love love this place! So after our wedding (more on that to come when I get photos), we took my (our) parents on a weeklong trip all around New England, and obviously we had to go to Newport, because we love looking at houses we can never have/afford. J and I have been to Newport before, again to look at houses, but also just to hang and enjoy ourselves away from the hustle and bustle of work and home. We stumbled upon this teeny little cafe off on a side street, and there we found ourselves, or at least I did.

Rosemary and Thyme is the perfect little cafe, and I was so inspired by the little cafe that I now have this as my retirement ambition – open a cafe just like this, and write more music. Everything here is freshly baked in the morning, and everything just tastes so good. A few years ago, they were only a husband and wife team, but now they have three others helping out, because the cafe is just so popular! When we got there, the wait was 25 to 30 minutes, and while we were eating, the wait just got longer and longer. 35, 40, 45, 50!! And people wait… because it is just that good!

I have to add, that my parents and grandmother – all super give-me-Asian-food types – absolutely loved this place. They seem kinda supportive of my retirement ambition too!

image

Banh Mi – $7.50: Thin sliced pork loin, our house pork pate, pickled veggies, shredded carrots, scallions, cilantro, mayo and spicy Thai sauce, served on a baguette. I love banh mis, and this take on a banh mi definitely gets my seal of approval. The pate is flavorful, yet not overpowering, and the veggies gave a nice tart crunch that is a good contrast to the pate and pork loin. One thing about this sandwich was that it was really really drippy – I blame the Thai chili sauce for that. Other than that, it’s a fantastic sandwich, and worth the wait!! My 2nd favorite sandwich we had that day!

image

Curry Chicken Salad Wrap – $7ish (again can’t remember exactly): This was the ‘favorite sandwich’ for J and my dad. It was a curried chicken salad with onions and celery, and dried berries (forgot which berry), and it was glorious. When I first got it, I cringed at the dried berry in my curry chicken, because curry and dried berries just don’t pair up right in my book. Boy was I wrong! They are perfect, and this sandwich is great because of the added tartness, sweetness and texture from that dried berry. Yes, it’s a winner. Even my mum, who hates chicken to the core, thought that it was a good sandwich. “I’ll eat it!”, she says.

image

Fatoush Salad – $8.25: Honestly, I don’t know why I got this salad. It was the only vegetarian salad on the menu, and I would usually just shun things with no meat protein in it, because why have no meat when you can have meat? Perhaps, I was swayed with the chickpeas, and maybe the mint, or maybe the lemon vinaigrette? Whatever it was, I’m glad I got this, because it was great. Fresh veggies, feta, chick peas, toasted pita tips, tomatoes, mint – what more do you want? Also, we all dug into this one the moment it landed on our table. It was a moment for me, because my dad really dislikes raw veggies, and he dug in too!

image

Verona Chicken Sandwich – $7ish (can’t remember): Grilled chicken, grilled peppers, caramelized onions and gorgonzola on lavash. This was a weird one for us because of the gorgonzola. J picked this, and he didn’t like it because of the gorgonzola. I loved it, because of the gorgonzola. The chicken was fine – thick slices and juicy inside, but that’s really what is expected when you get a chicken sandwich, right? I really love the crunch of the toasted lavash, and the little crumblets of gorgonzola on the lavash too. It was a fine sandwich by my book, but I wanted something green and fresh with it too, because it got heavy toward the end.

image

Tosca Pizette – $6.75: Hail my favorite sandwich from that day – the Tosca pizette! It’s the best ever! Ricotta cheese, poached pears, prosciutto, balsamic glaze and gorgonzola? It’s a match made in heaven. Nuff said!

IMG_5545

Chocolate Croissant – $3ish: Nutella, almonds, croissant. They bake it fresh every day, and by lunch hour, all the breakfast pastries are mostly gone. I was glad to get the last chocolate croissant, and the last pastry for the day. It was fantastic!

image

Here’s all our food, minus some other things, in it’s glory. Bravo Rosemary and Thyme! All other sandwich cafes should look up to you guys!

Rosemary and Thyme Artisan Bakery and Cafe

Address: 382 Spring St. Newport, R.I. 02840
Telephone: (401)-619-3338
Hours: T-Sa | 7.30am – 3pm
Su | 7.30am – 11.30am
Price Range: $$ ($10 – $20 per person)
Overall: Excellent!

Leave a Reply

