Boston Eats: Grendel’s Den Bar and Restaurant @ Harvard Square

We were walking around Harvard Square because J was working at Harvard on a project, and we decided to meet up for dinner. As many times as I’ve been to Harvard, I’ve never seen Grendel’s before! It’s really hidden away.

If you’re there for drinks, then it might be good, but the food is kinda meh.

image

Greek Side Salad (comes with Beggar’s Feast): I never quite understood why places served salads that are uncut. Seriously, what is the use of one entire ring of pepper, or onion? It is just too much of one flavor in a bite! Anyway, J thought that the salad was very bland. I liked the Greek dressing because I thought it was flavorful. He’s 1/4 Greek, so maybe you should trust him over me on this. I actually liked the dressing and used pita to suck it out of the plate!

image

Beggar’s Chicken Banquet – $12.50: Sad looking mess of a plate! Definitely not good. This has got to be one of the worst hummus-es I’ve ever tasted in my life. My standard’s are not even that high; I am in no way comparing New England hummus-es to those I got in Israel. This hummus was lumpy (as you can see) and tasted nothing like hummus. I think it was predominantly tahini, and warm (eww) tahini at that. Gross! The chicken was tough and not very flavorful, and the pita bread was just so stale! The saving grace of the plate was the spinach pie. Next time, we will just get the spinach pie, because everything else on the plate was just not worth the calories.

image

Yucatan Style Pork – $8: Slow cooked marinated pork, served with red onion pickle, side of sour cream, green salsa, pico de gallo, beans & rice. That was the given description. My plate was not much better. The serving was tiny, and the pork tasted nothing like it was slow cooked. It was dry and stringy, and very seriously lacked fat! The beans were seriously undercooked and bland, and I had to douse it in the green hot sauce to make it barely edible. The rice and beans to protein ratios were also way off. *sigh*

Grendel’s Den and Restaurant
Address: 89 Winthrop St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Telephone: (617) 491-1160
Hours: M-Su | 11.30pm – 1am
Price Range: $$ ($10 to $20 per person)
Overall: *sigh*

Leave a Reply

