Boston Eats: Parish Cafe @ Boylston

Parish Cafe has been the weekly haunt for pre-rehearsal dinners! I’m a sucker for good sandwiches, and my bar is set very very very high. I’ve got to say that I’ve enjoyed most of Parish Cafe’s sandwiches. The pairings are interesting, and the portion is just right – no leftovers! Love this place!!

20140708_180417 The Lumiere – $12.50: Thickly sliced slow-roasted pork butt on a seeded bun with a lime and green curry tartar sauce. Served with an ocean papaya salad topped with peppered peanuts. My all-star favorite sandwich at Parish. Best part of this is not the green curry tartar sauce (that I think is a stroke of pure genius); my favorite bite is the peppered peanuts in the papaya salad. So good! Cuts the fat in the pork all the time. Need I say the pork is fall off your sandwich tender? Get down and dirty with this one. So good! I introduced Jas to it, and he likes it, then I introduced Frank to it, and he liked it too. Seriously, you can’t go wrong with this one, especially if you’re a pork lover!

image

The Viera – $15.00: Tenderized, sliced flank steak in a soy, chili garlic marinade sautéed and served on an Italian sub roll with watercress, roasted red peppers, sliced white onions and a homemade basil aioli. Served with mixed greens, tomatoes, and a balsamic vinaigrette. I like the salad and dressing! It’s super light and compliments the sweet-ish marinated steak well. My biggest gripe about this sandwich is that the meat was not very tender, and because I couldn’t bite through the meat with each bite, I take out huge chunks of meat, leaving some bites with no meat. 😦

image

The Nebo – $13: Italian style tuna on a crunchy baguette with an olive tapenade, Mediterranean aioli, lettuce, tomato, sliced hard boiled eggs, fresh basil, sliced red onions, and a balsamic vinegar drizzle. served with a string bean and tomato salad with a lemon-olive oil dressing. Decided to try something different one day – and loved it. The bread was so crisp and just filled with heaps of tuna! Some bites were a little dry, but I love the addition of boiled eggs for interest. The string bean and tomato salad is delicious too. I don’t know why they took this one off the menu, but I kinda miss it.

chicken

The Bond Herb Roasted Chicken Salad – $12.75: Roasted chicken breast mixed with sweet garlic aioli, roasted red onions, scallions, thyme and tarragon on an Italian baguette with sliced tomato, Romaine lettuce, and crisp fried onions. Served with homemade potato salad. Everyone’s favorite at Parish. It’s a pretty normal chicken salad sandwich with fried onions. Seriously, they got me at fried onions. Not my favorite sandwich, but good for the vanilla folks.

image

White Chocolate Bread Pudding – $8: Brioche style bread pudding made with white chocolate and homemade custard. Served warm with chocolate sauce and whipped cream. This thing is to die for. Seriously. Probably the moistest bread pudding ever – must be that white chocolate! Love it!

Parish Cafe
Address: 361 Boylston St
Boston, MA 02116
Telephone: (617) 391-0501
Hours: M-Sa | 11.30am – 2am
Su | 12pm – 2am
Price: $$ ($10 – $20 per person)
Overall: Good!

Leave a Reply

