Nyonya Pineapple Tarts

IMG_6068-001

Here’s my pineapple tart recipe, which has been the most successful one I’ve tried so far. The crust recipe is adapted it from Nasi Lemak Lover and the pineapple jam is my own, so it’s a hybrid recipe of sorts. The crust is really good – not too buttery that it overpowers the pineapple, not too crispy/crunchy, and not too soft that it just melts in your mouth. I also really like my pineapple jam – I like it with the soft cinnamon and clove undertones, while others like as pure a pineapple flavor as possible. I also tend to like some chunks of pineapple rather than a homogenous paste-like texture, so I blitzed (blended) my pineapples less than most people would. Overall, I think this is my pineapple tart recipe to keep! Also, I made these using the ‘flower’ style that I like, but I did a post that shows 3 other styles of pineapple tarts that I see in Singapore (for a total of 4 different pineapple tart styles!)

IMG_6025

Ingredients for Pineapple Jam:

  • 1.2kg peeled pineapple, or 2 20 oz cans of crushed pineapples
  • 1 stick cinnamon
  • 7 or 8 cloves
  • white sugar (variable, depending on taste and ripeness of pineapple)

IMG_6051

Method:

If you are using real pineapples, cut the pineapple into smaller pieces, and add the pineapple pieces to a food processor. If you are using crushed pineapples from a can, just pour the can of pineapple into the food processor.

Pulse the pineapple into a consistency you like. I like it to have some texture, but most people like it pureed (basically.)

Pour this pineapple ‘puree’ into a stock pot, and add the cinnamon stick and cloves.

Bring the pineapple ‘puree’ to a boil, then turn the heat down to a simmer. Do not cover, and stir often, or the pineapple will burn.

Take the pineapple ‘puree’ off the heat once it has browned significantly (see above), thickened and can keep it’s shape. Add sugar if you think the puree needs it. (I choose to add sugar at the very end because if sugar is added before, the jam may become too sweet.) For me, it took about an hour and a half.

to blog

Ingredients for Pastry:

  • 250g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 72 grams condensed milk
  • 365 grams plain flour, and more for flouring surfaces
  • 1.5 egg yolks

Ingredients for Egg Wash:

  • 1 egg white
  • 0.5 egg yolk (use the half of an egg yolk that’s leftover)

Method:

Add the butter to the bowl of the mixer. With the paddle attachment, turn the mixer to high for whipped butter.

Add condensed milk and continue whipping until condensed milk is combined. If you live in a colder climate like I do, you may need stop the mixer, then use a spatula to push the whipped butter back down before whipping again.

Add the egg yolks and continue whipping until evenly combined.

Sieve the flour and add salt. Mix thoroughly.

Once the condensed milk and butter are combined, slowly add the flour to the mixer bowl, while the mixer is turned on mid-low (I used speed level 4.) After adding more flour, turn the speed to low (level 2). Let the mixer mix for about 2 minutes. When it cannot combine the dough further, change the paddle to a dough hook, and let the dough hook ‘knead’ the dough. Or, you can hand knead it like I did (because I was lazy to wash the dough hook!) The dough is done when smooth to touch, soft and pliable.

IMG_6052-001

Once the dough is formed, pinch a handful of dough and roll it out on a floured surface. Don’t forget to flour your rolling pin too! Roll the dough to about 0.5cm high.

IMG_6047-001

Once the dough is rolled, use a small cookie cutter (mine was round, but you can make it whatever shape you want!) and cut out little shapes. My rounds were about 3.5cm in diameter, which was a good size that fits in my mouth! If you have a pineapple tart cutter, good for you!

Make a small indent in the middle of your pastry round. I used the end of my rolling pin, but you can also use your thumb. Add a little mound of pineapple jam in that mound. I measured it to be between 6 and 8 grams of pineapple per tart (if you want to bother about being accurate.)

Optional: If you think plain tarts are boring, you can use a fork and crimp the edges of the tarts like I did. My fork was weird because it only had three prongs, but you could also use tweezers to pinch the pastry for some texture. If you don’t care if your tarts look ‘unembellished’, you can just go ahead with plain edges. It doesn’t matter if they look that nice – as long as they taste good (and they will!)

OR, you can roll out little bits of pastry dough and do little crosses on top of the pineapple. I don’t like to do that because the little pieces of pastry dough tend to fall off easily.

IMG_6056-001

Tadah! Here you have some unbaked tarts!

With a pastry brush, brush the pastry dough with the egg wash. Do not brush the pineapple!

Place your tarts on a cookie sheet (I line mine with parchment paper) and put them in the oven at 350F for about 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

One response to “Nyonya Pineapple Tarts

  1. Pingback: 羊年大吉!Happy Lunar New Year 2015! – 4 Singapore Pineapple Tart Styles | emylogues·

Leave a Reply

