Boston Eats: Symphony Sushi @ Symphony

This is another in a series of lunch/dinners from my time at SICPP (Summer Institute for Contemporary Performance Practice) held at the New England Conservatory. I was there for a whole week, which allowed me a lot of time to taste and sample some of the favorite food options in that area! Other posts in this series: Pho & I @ Symphony

IMG_2454

Miso soup: Comes with lunch sets! Your regular miso soup here, but it came our of the kitchen hotter than normal miso soups, which I enjoyed.

IMG_2455

Maki Lunch – $8.95: One tuna roll, one california roll and one salmon temaki for lunch! It was not a large amount of food, but everything was fresh and the nori was crunchy! I loved it, and would go back again. My favorite of the lot was the salmon temaki. They definitely did not skimp on the salmon in this, as you can see from above, and I really appreciate it. For $8.95? Deal!

IMG_2464

Unagi Bento – $8.50: I used to love unagi before I knew it was not a sustainable fish. Here, the bento box was served with some salad, two pieces of avo-cucumber roll, two veggie gyozas and a few pieces of fruit. From the presentation, you can see that they really did not skimp on anything. The salad had shredded carrots, really thinly sliced cucumbers and a wedge of tomato. Unfortunately, I was not a fan of the ginger (?) dressing. In fact, I could not tell what dressing it was – it was watery and not very flavorful. The gyozas were super crisp and were stuffed quite full. The avo-cuc maki were also good. The best part of this box was the four thick slices of unagi in unagi sauce – yums. There was a reasonable amount of rice for that amount of unagi, which was the perfect portion for me (some might think it’s too little though.) Also, four different types of fruits? Yeah. Great deal for $8.50!

Symphony Sushi
Address: 45 Gainsborough St, Boston, MA 02115
Telephone: (617) 262-3888
Hours: M-Sa | 11.30am to 10.30pm
Su | 12pm – 10pm
Price Range: $$ for lunch ($10 to $20 per person)
Overall: Will be back!

Leave a Reply

