Netherlands Eats: Manneken Pis @ Amsterdam

This post is part of a series of posts from my Netherland’s trip, where I was in Apeldoorn for a performance of my work. On that trip, I also visited Amsterdam (for the third time!), stayed with my friend Patrick in The Hague for a few days, visited Utrecht with YCM14 friends and all-round merry-making in the Netherlands.

So, it seems that eating french fries in the Netherlands is a must-do! I thought french fries were French? Well, kidding! I know french fries were not French; they are Belgian, but Dutch? That was new to me!

In the Netherlands, french fries are not shoestring fries. They are thick cut fries that most people eat with a massive dollop of mayo, curry ketchup (yes, you read that right) and minced onions, and are served in a paper cone. Boston-ites, you can get some of these at Amsterdam Falafel in Davis Square. In the Netherlands, fries are everywhere. Every couple of steps, you’ll see a fry store, and they are also at all train stations. These fries are freshly fried when you order them, so they are really really crispy and good.

When I was in Amsterdam this recent trip, my friend Daniel, who lives in Amsterdam, brought me to what he felt was a good fry place – Manneken Pis. Manneken Pis is a Dutch fry chain that was voted the #1 fry in the Netherlands. Of course, some people may disagree and have their own opinions about who serves the best fry in town, but to me, these were good fries! He got us a small portion to share. It was by no means small, but it was delicious and left me wanting more.

Read other posts in this series here: Tastoe (Utrecht), Winkel Van Sinkel (Utrecht), Full Moon Dimsum and Hotpot (Den Hague)

IMG_0757

French Fries with mayo, curry ketchup and minced onions – 3.50 euros (small) + additional 50c each for sauces/toppings: The fries were super crispy thick cut. I hate thick cut fries because they are usually soggy and have a lesser surface area to volume ratio. These however, were wonderful – super crisp and had a wonderful potato aroma! I really enjoyed the sauces and minced onions too, but I felt that there was just too much mayo. The curry ketchup did add a different spiced up flavor to the regular fries, and the onions added some crunch and zing to it. It was fantastic, but it was also rather expensive for just fried potatoes. Good experience though, and I would have it again!

IMG_0756

 

Look at all those fries all stacked up in the corner! They re-fry them as you order them, don’t worry.

Manneken Pis

Address: Damrak 41, Amsterdam

Hours: Su – Th | 11am – 11pm
Fr, Sa | 11am – 2am

Overall: Great!

Leave a Reply

