New York Eats: Go Go Curry @ Greenwich Village

Another from our NYC visit! We had Go Go Curry even before it came to Boston! Folks were playing games at the board game cafe across the street, and decided to go to Go Go for a quick and yummilicious dinner, before going back for more games. I’ve got to say that the NYC Go Go Curry is much more affordable than the Boston one. I have no idea what accounts for the differences, but it is at least $2 cheaper in NYC for the same thing! Also, if you go on the 5th, 15th or 25th (5 is ‘go’ in Japanese), you get a free topping coupon too!

20140419_212854

Here’s the menu! One day, just one day, we will try the World Champion Curry!

20140419_212234 20140419_213433

As for now, we shared the Grand Slam – yes, $12.50 for the both of us, and we were plenty full after. It came with a chicken katsu, pork katsu, 2 sausages, 1 shrimp and 1 egg. The fried items (chicken, pork and shrimp) are only fried when you order them, so everything is still crunchy and fresh when it comes to you. My favorite out of everything was the pork katsu. It is so tender, so moist and the panko breading is so light and crispy. Yummy! My one gripe about this plate is that they don’t give you enough curry sauce. Maybe it is me, but I like my rice just smothered in curry sauce (just like I like my stuffing smothered with gravy!) I could have asked for more (I think) but they were closing and we were their last customers for the night. I really didn’t want to bother them any more that our huge group (10 pax!) coming in minutes before closing.

It is a tight squeeze in the shop since they only had two tables, but it is definitely delicious and well worth the squeeze. I love Go Go Curry in NYC! Delicious!

Go Go Curry

Address: 231 Thompson St
New York, NY 10012

Telephone: (212) 505-2555

Hours: Daily | 11am – 10pm

Price Range: $ ($0 to $10 per person)

Overall: Yummy! Can’t wait to be back!

Leave a Reply

