New York Eats: Woorijip Authentic Korean Food @ Midtown West/Koreatown

Visited Woorijip on a different trip to NYC, where I met up with a old friend PP. We have a long tradition of visiting NYC for a weekend to eat, and maybe shop a little, but mostly eat.

Decided to try Woorijip because I arrived in NYC a little early, and was just hanging out in the Midtown West area waiting for PP’s bus from Ithaca to arrive. Decided to give Woorijip a try because it had good reviews, and I was eating alone and wanted a place that would be single-friendly. Woorijip was it! It was a Korean style buffet that you pay by weight for. They also had pre-packaged meals that allow you to just grab and go, but I decided to try the buffet items because they all looked amazing! In fact, it was so good that I went back to Woorijip the next day on the way to catch my bus, and got another lunchbox of more yummy Korean foods to eat enroute to Boston.

20140520_131427

Woorijip is very busy and it might be a little confusing when you first step in. Basically, just head to the line, get a disposable lunch box, and grab whatever you want. They have a 30-40 item buffet line, so there is something there for everyone! At the end of it, you stand in line to pay. Then, you may take your food in a bag to go, or head to one of those seats scattered everywhere in the little store to enjoy your meal. And the best part is, all this is for $7.99/lb. Also, it’s open from 9AM to 3AM. Wow!

20140520_132100

Here’s my plate from day 1! I got a little bit of everything. Everything from jap chae to chicken wings to bulgogi to kimbab and all sorts of pancakes. Everything was good, but the jap chae was amazing! I think it was my favorite thing on the plate. The pancakes were really good too, and my favorite was the green one (I think it was spinach?) I really liked the pork bulgogi as well, but wish it were slightly warmer. My least favorite thing on this plate was the kimbab. It was a little dry for me, but I often feel that kimbab a little dry to begin with. All yummy! This meal was about $12.

20140521_181727

 

Here’s my plate from day 2! As you can tell, I got a lot more of the jap chae this time. So yummy!! Also got a piece of fish (don’t know why, just felt like it) and more pancake like things! This meal was about $8-ish.

Woorijip Authentic Korean Food

Address: 12 W 32nd St
New York, NY 10001

Telephone: (212) 244-1115

Hours: Daily | 9am – 3am

Price Range: $$ ($10 to $20 per person)

Overall: Can’t wait to be back!

One response to “New York Eats: Woorijip Authentic Korean Food @ Midtown West/Koreatown

Leave a Reply

