Warm Roasted Tomato Salsa

In the mood for more dippy things, and decided to make a warm roasted tomato salsa. I borrowed the recipe from Once Upon a Chef, and modified it slightly (because I’m all for modifying things. This one also follows the footsteps of my re-make of Alton Brown’s guacamole with the addition of more cilantro than called for (because I grew my own cilantro and had a lot of it!) It tasted good. I like the oomphed up cilantro flavor too. It kinda needed that to balance the smokiness of the tomatoes. I love this salsa! I might make one addition in future, which is to combine fresh onions with it as well (I just love that raw onion flavor and crunch!) Wonderful recipe. I had to share it!

IMG_5961

Ingredients (makes about 2.5 cups)

  • 4 vine-ripened tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 small yellow onions, cut into wedges
  • 6 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 3 Serrano chili peppers, stemmed (I used 2)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves (I used at least 3/4 cup!)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice, from one lime, plus more if needed

IMG_5953

Directions

Place the tomatoes, onion, serrano peppers and garlic on a baking tray, and place the baking tray under the broiler for about 10 minutes. My oven did not really have a broiler, so I just put it on bake at 400F for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, roughly chop up the cilantro (stems, leaves and all.)

IMG_5956

This is what it looks like after coming out of the oven. De-seed the serrano peppers if you want it less spicy. I de-seeded it, but then regretted it later, and probably would not de-seed my serrano pepper in future.

IMG_5959

Depending on how big your food processor is, you may add all the ingredients in it in one go, and add the cumin, salt and oil, except the cilantro, then pulse it a few times. Or, if you have a mini prep like we do, you can do it over three times. The results are the same–slightly chunky salsa. Yum!

Add the chopped cilantro, add the olive oil and squeeze the lime into the tomato mixture. Mix to combine evenly.

IMG_5962

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

