Singapore Eats: Tsuru-koshi Udon @ Orchard

Was meeting a friend for dinner and she suggested Tsuru-koshi Udon at Takashimaya’s basement food hall. She said that it’s the best udon in Singapore, and that it had affordable prices. Good food and good prices? I’m there for sure! It took us a while to find it even though my friend’s been there before. The Takashimaya food hall is not huge, but there are many hidden corners to that place. Look for the escalator at the back of the hall!

Camera 360

The storefront! It is in some corner of the food hall, so you must walk around and find it!

Camera 360

I got the Atsu Atsu Dan Dan Udon. It was $9. I guess I wasn’t in the mood for more traditional udon and the poached egg looked too good in the picture for me to miss. It was really good. The udon noodles are chewy, and smooth, unlike other places where the noodles are kinda doughy. I like the broth (what little of it) that came too – it was flavorful, but not overpowering. The poached egg was perfectly poached and there was just nothing wrong about this bowl.

Would I call it the best udon in Singapore? I don’t know. I don’t think I’ve had enough udon to make that decision, but it is definitely not bad, especially for the price.

Camera 360

 

While we are at Japanese food halls, may I remark that this sesame seed grinder is just the most fascinating thing ever? I love this thing and I want one!

Tsuru-koshi Udon
Address: Basement 2, Ngee Ann City, 391 Orchard Road [Takashimaya Food Hall]
Hours: Daily | 10am – 10pm
Price Range: $ ($0 to $10 per person)
Overall: Not bad lah.

Leave a Reply

