Boston Eats: New China Pearl @ Woburn

As people know, I love dim sum! I’ve had pretty much most dim sums in Chinatown, and my favorites are Windsor Cafe (if I can get a place), or Hei La Moon. When a student told me that there was good dim sum in Woburn, I almost didn’t believe him, but decided to try it myself. Also, I have no idea if New China Pearl is related to China Pearl in Boston’s Chinatown.

There is dim sum in New China Pearl only on the weekends. The place is usually packed and there often is a line. Things are a little chaotic in the house, as you would expect any good Asian restaurant to be. They have the dim sum carts as well. The atmosphere is authentic! Service is a little haphazard, but that is to be expected, I guess.

Prices are as follows (and I have no idea what corresponds to medium, large, XXL):

Medium dishes – $2.95 each
Large dishes – $3.25 each
XXL dishes – $6.50 each

20140112_120210

We got a lot of food!

Glutinous Rice with Chicken in Lotus Leaf (Ho Yi Fan): Fragrant glutinous rice, but not much chicken meat. There was a slice of shiitake mushroom in there too.

20140112_115311

Prawn Dumplings (Har Gao): These are decent. I wouldn’t say they are great though. The shrimp has some floury coating and the skin is rather thick. At least they taste fresh!

Pork Dumplings (Siew Mai): These are great and packed with flavor. There’s shrimp and pork in the mix, and the mixture is rather fatty, which I like. Good!

20140112_115135

Glutinous Rice and Red Bean Dumplings: Just deep fried and has a good crisp exterior. The dough is slightly sweet and the red bean filling is smooth and not too sweet as well. Good!

20140112_114907

Phoenix Claws (Feng Zao): My favorite dish here, and perhaps one of my favorite dim sum foods of all time! These are so good. So soft! They are the perfect combination of sweet and savory. These are my favorite Boston area feng zao, and that is high praise!

20131228_113637

Rice Cake with Dough Fritter (Zha Liang): The you tiao (dough fritter) is crisp and was such a contrast to the rice cake surrounding it. The soy sauce is slightly sweet too. Very delicious!

Pineapple Bun (Poluo Bao): The crusty poluo topping was very light and sweet, but the bread was not very warm. It was fine, but not the best.

Honey BBQ Pork Bun (Char Siew Bao): The bao skin is very very good. The filling is a bit too sweet for my taste, and the pork not fatty enough for me.

20131228_120203

 

Bean Curd (Tau Huay): Smooth, soft and sweet! This one here is as good as it gets in the Boston-area!

New China Pearl
Address: 288 Mishawum Rd, Woburn, MA 01801
Telephone: (781) 932-0031
Hours: M-W | 11.30am – 10pm
Th, Fr | 11am – 12am
Sa | 10am – 12am
Su | 10am – 10pm
Price Range: $$ ($10 to $20 per person)
Overall: Good!

Leave a Reply

