Singapore Eats: Singapore Fried Hokkien Mee @ Whampoa

When I was back in December with J for our Singapore wedding, my dad brought us to Whampoa for dinner. He was insistent that Whampoa had really good food, and since we still had a car then, we all packed up the vehicle (wasn’t too hard, since it was just grandma, dad, mom, J and I — 3 missing brothers and their girlfriends!) Here are some other posts about food we had that night at Whampoa Makan Place (hawker center): Mang Jia Jiao SatayHoover Rojak, Ah Hock Fried Oyster Hougang, Whampoa Satay Bee Hoon, Singapore Fried Hokkien Mee.

Hokkien mee is my dad’s favorite food. He loves it, and I love it too. There’s just something about the smell of the sea that speaks to me so much. In fact, I think Hokkien mee is as close as it gets to frutti di mare scampi, which is by far and wide, my favorite dish in all of Boston. You can find my pick of frutti di mare scampi at the one and only Giacomo’s Ristorante in the North End of Boston. I’m in Boston, that would be my last meal.

Sorry for the sidetrack. As I was saying, Hokkien mee is probably the frutti di mare of Singapore. It has all of the ‘good stuff’ like shrimp, squid and some slices of pork, all cooked in noodles with seafood stock. Yum! So how did Singapore Fried Hokkien Mee compare?

IMG_4223_1024

 

Here’s the plate of Hokkien mee. You can’t tell, but the stock and noodles are actually quite fragrant! For my taste, the noodles are a little soupy, but still within reason. There were also some bits of squid, and two prawns, which is far too little seafood for a plate of $8 Hokkien mee! There’s no pork in this Hokkien mee too! Just a whole big plate of noodles. My biggest gripe with this Hokkien mee is that it seemed underfried. By that, I mean that there was no delicious wok hei flavor. Sure, the sambal was delicious in this, but should the noodles be able to stand on it’s own right without having to add sambal? We are eating Hokkien mee, not sambal belacan, right?

Overall, I was a tad disappointed with this dish, especially after so many big name bloggers claimed that it is good. It is an okay and overpriced plate at best. Eat your Hokkien mee at Geylang Lor 29 Hokkien Mee at Katong. Still my favorite!

 

Singapore Fried Hokkien Mee

Address: Whampoa Food Centre Blk 90 Whampoa Drive #01-32
Price Range: $ (Below $10 per person)
Overall: OK lah!

Leave a Reply

