California Eats: Good Mong Kok Bakery @ Chinatown [San Fran]

Food posts from my Left Coast concert trip to San Francisco: Kare-Ken @ Tenderloin, Dragon Eats @ Financial District, Bissap Baobab @ Mission, Cream @ Mission, Good Mong Kok Bakery @ Chinatown, New Golden Daisy @ Chinatown, Kobe Bento @ Chinatown, Red Blossom Tea @ Chinatown, Sushirrito @ Union Square, Boudin Bakery @ Union Square and Boxing Room @ Hayes Valley.

I was wandering around Chinatown looking for lunch, and was just overwhelmed with the choices. I had my GPS and Yelp on, but there were a few places that I still completely could not find. I kid you not! The yelp reviews will say it’s there, and the dot will say I’m there, but it must be some portal or something that kept me from finding some of these more elusive spots. While standing frustrated on the street due to the lack of food, I spotted a line.

Oh yes, the auntie in me is out. I see a long line with old Asian aunties, and I tell myself that this must be good. And so the story goes, I stood in line, not knowing what I just got myself into. I thought I was getting some Chinese baked goods, but I was so so so wrong!

20150531_124811

I thought it was a bakery, but it really sells dim sum!

20150531_124817

The line was insane! At first, I had no idea what I was in line for, but a whole line of old Asian aunties can’t be a bad thing.

20150531_124602

Some dim sum items in their steamers!

20150531_125018

Siew Mai – $2.10 for 3: Their siew mais were really meaty, and was on the leaner side. Not the best siew mai I’ve had in the world, but it was cheap and decent.

Char Siew Bao – $1.25: The bao dough was fluffy and had a ton of sweet char siew filling! It was not the best, again, but it was cheap and good.

Overall, I don’t think the line is for the quality of the food. The food is mostly decent, but I think it is the prices that drive people to stand in line! I’ve had better dim sum in San Francisco. If you want dim sum, hit up Hong Kong Lounge in the Inner Richmond area. This place was recommended by Chong Han, and he was spot on!

Good Mong Kok Bakery

Address: 1039 Stockton St
San Francisco, CA 94108
Telephone: Phone number (415) 397-2688
Hours: Daily | 7am – 6pm
Price Range: $ (Under $10 per person)
Overall: Decent.

Leave a Reply

