California Eats: New Golden Daisy @ Chinatown [San Fran]

Food posts from my Left Coast concert trip to San Francisco: Kare-Ken @ Tenderloin, Dragon Eats @ Financial District, Bissap Baobab @ Mission, Cream @ Mission, Good Mong Kok Bakery @ Chinatown, New Golden Daisy @ Chinatown, Kobe Bento @ Chinatown, Red Blossom Tea @ Chinatown, Sushirrito @ Union Square, Boudin Bakery @ Union Square and Boxing Room @ Hayes Valley.

This one was another ‘by chance’ discovery. I was walking around looking for Sun Sang Market, but the GPS brought me here. Incidentally, it is right next door to Good Mongkok Bakery, so I spent some time looking at what they had to offer while being in the line for dim sum.

20150531_123504

From the outside…

20150531_130038

Lots of meats hanging out!

The sightings seemed promising. They had roast duck and pork hanging by the window–always a good sign, and some other stuff that you could buy per pound inside. I tried to get myself a single portion of roast duck, but the dude told me that he could only sell duck as whole or halves. Embarrassed, I decided to get a small amount of roast pork instead.

20150531_130551

If you know Chinese roast pork, the most prized part is the crispy skin. However, he chopped up a long piece of pork that had absolutely no crispy skin on it. I was irked, and asked him for the skin. He then said, ok, and chopped a small portion of pork with skin and dumped it in my box. That was WAY more than what I needed, and most of it was skinless! I felt irritated, cheated and silly. I have about three quarters of a pound of just pork and some skin, and I have to pay for it. Damn!

Anyway, the pork was okay. The skin was great, but I had three mouthfuls of it. This came to about $6. I wish I never walked in. The 3 pieces of crispy skin was not good enough for me to have to eat 3/4lbs of mediocre pork on my own. Bahhh!

New Golden Daisy

Address: 1041 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Telephone: (415) 392-0111
Price Range: $ ($0 to $10 per person)
Overall: Meh minus.

Leave a Reply

