California Eats: Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop @ Mission Hills [San Diego]

20131219_210945

While in San Diego visiting my brother, I made the poor decision of letting the local lead the way. I wanted some San Diego tacos/burritos while I was there, and told my brother just that. He decided that the epitome of San Diego tacquerias was Lucha Libre. The fact that Lucha Libre was featured on an episode of Man vs Food should have hinted that it was not my hole-in-the-wall type of tacqueria, and I should have saved my calories and ran. Instead, I played the thankful guest and wolfed down an insane blasphemy of a burrito.

Also, it was an expensive burrito, and the line was long, and we had to find parking a few blocks away because this place was so popular.

20131219_211435

Cue the “Surfin’ California”, as featured on Man vs Food. I really hate that TV show. As much as I am a frugal person and like a good bang for my buck, and as much as I get annoyed by the little teaspoons of fairy dust foam emulsions at fancypants establishments, having a burrito with steak, shrimp, french fries (!@?*&), cheese, avocado, pico de gallo and chipotle sauce, that was a massive maybe 2 pounds worth, was too much for me.

The beef was bland and tough. The shrimp was crunchy, but too damn crunchy that it didn’t taste like shrimp. The fries were soggy. How can anyone think to serve soggy fries? They are the worst! There was no flavor because all the flavors were lost among everything that was stuffed in there.

I left unimpressed by San Diego and it’s famed Mexican food, but I’m sure it was just the wrong place to hit up a good taco/burrito. How does this place even exist? I guess people have no taste.

20131219_212618

Aside from the food, I kinda liked the vibe of the shop. It had somewhat of a tattoo-shop/I’m-way-too-cool-for-you vibe, which brought me back to my rebellious middle school years. Also, the walls were pink. And that’s all the redeeming qualities of this place, so I can’t be blamed for being biased.

20131219_213044

The ice cream they had was decent though.

Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop

Address: 1810 W Washington St
San Diego, CA 92110
Telephone: (619) 296-8226
Hours: Su – Th | 8am – 11pm
Fr, Sa | 8am – 2.30am
Price Range: $$ ($10 to $20 per person)
Overall: Eurgh.

Leave a Reply

