Cornflake Cookies

IMG_1494

Yay! Chinese New Year is here! Happy New Year everyone! (I figured that I might as well send the greetings early, in case we get buried in a massive blizzard and get power cut off, and not be able to say hi.)

Usually, CNY is my favorite time of the year. Food, red packets and family – what is there not to like? Unfortunately, no one gives a shit about it here in this country. Even Chinatown (we were there twice in the last week) didn’t even bother to red-it-up. *sigh* School goes on, which doesn’t give me time to cook all the CNY goodies I know I want to eat. Fortunately (or unfortunately), we are getting snowed in with super storm/blizzard Nemo this weekend, and so our usual hotpot with friends have to be cancelled, and I have a tiny bit of time to bake some goodies. *phew*

Here’s one of my childhood favorites – cornflake cookies! Do check out my walnut cookies recipe for (maybe) one of the best cookies I’ve ever made.

Happy New Year again!

Ingredients

  • 90g butter, softened
  • 90g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 170g plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1.5 cups cornflakes, crushed

Directions

13-004

In a mixing bowl, beat the butter until creamy, then slowly add the caster sugar until combined.

Add the egg and vanilla essence and continue beating until combined.

13-005

Sift the flour and baking soda, and add it to the wet ingredients. Beat until small clumps are formed.

13-006

Pinch some about 1(ish) teaspoon of dough and roll it into a ball. Roll the ball in the crushed cornflakes, then place the ball on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, then flatten the ball. Do the same for the remainder of the batter.

13-007

Bake the cookies at 350F for 15 to 20 minutes.

IMG_1497

2 responses to “Cornflake Cookies

  1. Pingback: Walnut Cookies | emylogues·

  2. Pingback: Chinese New Year, and the great Nemo blizzard | emylogues·

Leave a comment